Card Stitching

A few months ago, someone shared the link to stitchingcards.com with me. This company offers free patterns as well as patterns to purchase for stitching images on to cards. I liked the idea and started looking around on the internet for other string art patterns that I could use in the same way. I came across this scouting craft site: http://www.e-scoutcraft.com/string/star.html . I really liked the star and have used this pattern sized exactly as it appears on this site for the paper stitched stars shown above. I’ve also played with creating my own pattern in different sizes, with more dots, etc., using graph paper. (And a side note- I usually print out graph paper from this website: http://www.donnayoung.org/math/papers.htm)

Here are step-by-step instructions showing exactly how I used the e-scoutcraft star pattern to create an image stitched onto card stock.

Print out star image from e-scouting link listed above, or create your own. Tape lightly to a piece of card stock Re-positional tape would probably be a good idea, although I didn’t have any :).

Use a sewing needle or pin to poke holes through both pattern and cardstock. I placed my paper on a slightly firm couch pillow for this step.

Remove the paper pattern and then go back over the holes with the sewing needle you’ll be using, pushing it completely through to makes sure holes will be large enough.

Thread needle (I used crochet cotton as shown in the first picture-embroidery floss would probably also work)) and pull through the first hole as indicated in diagram. Tape thread end to back. Follow the thread pattern starting at hole one and moving to opposite side hole 6, then moving to hole two and stitching to opposite side hole 5 continuing until all holes in section are used. Here are some pictures illustrating this:

 

When complete the section it will look like this and you will then move on to the next set of holes and repeat the process until it is filled in.

Finish stitching the third set of holes in the same way. Your card will now look like this:

Now you will repeat the same stitches to fill in the open areas as shown here:

Continue stitching until all areas are filled in and tape thread to back to finish.

These stitched stars can then be used in many ways- add frames and make them into cards, ornaments or whatever else you can think of. I’ve come up with a version sewn onto felt that I’ll post about soon.

9 Comments

  1. drenka said,

    November 10, 2007 at 3:09 pm

    Thank you for the links. I’m really gonna enjoy doing these cards.

  2. jooles01 said,

    December 29, 2007 at 5:18 am

    I really like this pattern, its nice and simple. There is another up and coming site with free card stitching patterns. Take a look at http://www.stitchedcards.blogspot.com. There is a patten for a butterfly free at the moment.

  3. Marissa said,

    April 21, 2008 at 4:55 pm

    Great tutorial! Thanks for sharing.
    Marissa
    :)

  4. Susann said,

    May 10, 2008 at 6:11 am

    Your cards look wonderful!

    I have found you because wordpress sees our posts (yours here and my Starburst Card) as related – and now that I have seen your great tutorial I know why ;-)

  5. Pam said,

    May 27, 2008 at 3:03 am

    Thanks for a great tutorial! I wanted to try this activity for my 3rd grade Special Education Math students – and hopefully your tutorial will help their designs come true!

  6. Anja said,

    November 21, 2008 at 7:22 am

    You mentioned using cotton crochet thread or embroidery thread. I always use Sulky thread. This is used for embroidery on a sewing machine. It comes in a multitude of colors including metalic which shimmers so nicely.

  7. kez said,

    December 12, 2008 at 6:05 pm

    Thank-you i’m giving cards to all my friends

  8. Polly said,

    August 17, 2009 at 12:54 pm

    I REALY ENJOYED YOUR TUTORIAL.THANK YOU

  9. Monique said,

    April 12, 2010 at 8:50 am

    WOW!!! I love it. Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

