Crocheted Heart Pattern

Valentine’s Day is next month, and I’ve been scanning the internet for patterns for crocheted hearts.  I’ve found lots of them, but never quite what I was looking for.  Some were too big or too frilly or had instructions that made no sense to me or were otherwise not quite what I was looking for.  I found a new one a couple of days ago that looked promising, but the pattern had errors in it, and being sort of new to this crochet thing, I sometimes know enough to tell when something’s wrong, but not always enough to know how to fix it.  I worked at trying to fix the pattern, and ended up creating my own, combining a few ideas I’d seen and making something new.  It’s possible that this combination has been made before, but I haven’t seen it, so I’m offering it here. I’m writing it up two ways:  first, just the quick instructions, and second, with pictures that show the steps in case I’m not clear.  Hopefully that will be helpful to newer crocheters (okay, me!), who often wish there was a picture to explain the steps that aren’t intuitively understood.

Thread and needles:  I used #10 crochet cotton with a Boye#8 (1.5mm) steel hook and #5 crochet cotton with a Boye #5(1.90 mm) steel hook.  I’m sure lots of other combinations would be fine, too.

Gauge isn’t really important here.

Abbreviations:

ch= chain

sl st= slip stitch

dc= double crochet

tr= treble crochet

sp= space

To begin, ch5 and join with a sl st to make a ring (or make an adjustable ring).

Row 1:  Ch3( counts as 1st dc), 2dc into ring, ch2. (3dc, ch2) into ring 3 more times.  Join with a sl st to top of beginning ch3. (12 dc, 4 ch2 spaces)

Row 2:  Sl st in next 2 stitches and into ch2 sp. Ch3(counts as 1st dc), 2dc, ch2, 3dc in ch2 sp, ch2.  *Skip next 3 dc and 3dc, ch2, 3dc in next ch2 sp, ch2.* Repeat from * to* 2 more times.  Join with a sl st to beginning ch3.  (24 dc, 8 ch2 spaces)

Row 3:  Sl st in next 2 stitches and into ch2 sp.  *Ch1. Tr into next ch2 sp (center of the square).  Ch1.  (tr, ch1) 6 more times in same ch2 space.  Join with a sl st in next ch2 space.*  Half of  curved part of heart is now completed.  Repeat from *to* to make 2nd heart curve.  Fasten, weave in ends and block if you want to.

And now, with pictures ( I know a few of them are blurry, but hopefully they are clear enough to get the idea across):

At the end of row 1:

Beginning of Row 2- how it should look when stitches are slipped over to next chain 2 space:

End of row 2:

Beginning of Row 3, showing stitches slipped to next chain 2 space:

Next step in Row 3- One chain made, first treble crochet made in next chain 2 space:

Row 3, showing first 7 treble crochets:

Row 3, showing slip stitch into next chain 2 space:

Row 3, beginning the second half of the heart curve:

Finished, showing the final slip stitch in next chain 2 space:

All ends woven in, blocked and pretty!

These are a little smaller than 2 inches square in #10 cotton and just over 2 inches in #5 cotton. These are very quick and I plan on making a bunch more of them to use in some Valentine projects.  Hopefully, my explanations are clear enough that other people can use them, too!

26 Comments

  1. phoenixhopes said,

    January 18, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    I know next to nothing about crochet and have been attempting to teach myself. You directions are great and I just may give these a try!

  2. April said,

    January 19, 2010 at 9:01 am

    Those are adorable, great job! After I’m done with dh’s slippers, I need to try these :-)

  3. January 19, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    Aww – this is lovely! Thank you for sharing. I’ve been looking at some other patterns recently too, and I’ve had a few of the same problems as you, but this looks great – if I manage to make a decent job of it, I’ll let you know :)

  4. Kristel said,

    January 27, 2011 at 10:59 am

    I just tried to make one of these hearts and it came out perfect the first time! That is not because of my skill, it’s because of your instructions. Thank you!

  5. January 28, 2011 at 4:26 pm

    I just made one of your hearts using Red Heart yarn and a size G hook. It came out beautifully and I will be making more. Thanks for sharing!

  6. Irina said,

    February 7, 2011 at 7:04 am

    Thanks for sharing!very useful

  7. noelani said,

    November 4, 2011 at 10:38 am

    Thanks for sharing the pattern! It’s amazing all the things you can make from a basic granny square! I made one out of 100% cotton worsted, with an I hook, which came out to about the size of the palm of my hand. I tend to crochet very tightly, so that might turn out to be too loose for some people, but mine turned out well. I am going to make some out of size 5 thread, with an E hook to go with some necklaces I have been making.

  8. December 13, 2011 at 2:53 pm

    [...] heart Granny square heart Upsized teensy heart Scandinavian [...]

  9. Tawny said,

    December 19, 2011 at 6:28 pm

    Thanks for sharing your pattern it was very easy to understand and quick to make. It gives me more ideas for ornaments. I like that you includeded a picture for each step that helped out a lot.

  10. cathy said,

    January 6, 2012 at 5:42 pm

    Just ran across this in a google search. Great instructions! I had seen this heart other places and tried to follow the directions and they just didn’t work. You did a great job of explaining! Thanks!

    Cathy

  11. January 23, 2012 at 8:12 am

    i think you have done a great job i have not long started crocheting my self so might give this a go if you dont mind

  12. elisha said,

    January 23, 2012 at 9:41 am

    i am making one [at least] of these right now.i’m a stubborn knitter that only knows basic crochet[granny squares] so this pattern is great for me to understand and it looks cool too.thank you :D

  13. February 9, 2012 at 12:52 am

    [...] Crocheted Heart Pattern [...]

  14. Laura Chapin said,

    October 12, 2012 at 10:13 am

    I love this heart! It’s a great pattern to follow, too~

    May I sell my hearts made from your pattern? Not your pattern, just the finished product.

    Thanks again!

    • hinzkj said,

      October 12, 2012 at 10:47 am

      Laura-that’s fine with me. I’m glad you like the pattern and you may use anything you make from it in whatever way you would like :).

  15. December 1, 2012 at 7:17 pm

    Thanks so much for this pattern, I’m using a 4ply yarn to make this heart part of the detachable pieces for headbands for Christmas.

  16. Emily said,

    January 18, 2013 at 11:47 am

    I made your hearts into a garland! I linked your pattern to my blog post:

    http://traditionallyemily.blogspot.com/2013/01/hearts-on-string.html

    Thanks for sharing your pattern! I’m definitely going to make more!

  17. susan said,

    February 9, 2013 at 10:41 am

    I was looking for a quick project for my holiday tree, I had made a few stuffed hearts and needed some more, quick and easy ones to finish with. Your directions are super and the photos made it easy to see if I was following the directions correctly, something I have trouble with at times, mine are made of worsted wieht yarn and size G hook

  18. Elizabeth said,

    February 10, 2013 at 4:16 am

    These are the cutest little hearts. It took me a couple of tries to get it right but when I did it came out lovely. I am making them for my girl scouts and will be putting them in a Crocheted envelope with some valentine candy! Thanks!

  19. Rachael said,

    November 1, 2013 at 11:33 pm

    Great pattern. Just what I have been looking for – simple and quick to make. Thank you very much.

  20. ML Hoover said,

    November 18, 2013 at 2:45 pm

    Thank you . Love this pattern so quick aand easy.

  21. robbie said,

    January 9, 2014 at 3:45 am

    Thank you for the pattern. I am getting ready for valentines day already. Great pattern and very easy to follow! Hope you are having a wonderful 2014!

  22. January 17, 2014 at 1:23 pm

    Love it, is it UK or US terminology?

    • hinzkj said,

      January 17, 2014 at 4:03 pm

      It is US terminology :).

  23. February 2, 2014 at 3:45 pm

    You did a wonderful job! I love the pictures. I did it in worsted weight and out it on a cozy.

  24. Hailie said,

    February 25, 2014 at 2:33 pm

    Me and my mom tried this pattern with 4 ply yarn and both used a j hook. Hers came out bigger than mine. But it was the first time doing these because she really liked the idea. And we were able to follow your pattern perfectly. They turned out good. Thanks so much for this pattern.!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

