More Easter Eggs

Last year, I heard about the Greek Easter tradition of having red eggs for Easter as a symbol of the blood of Christ and rebirth. On the Feingold message board, I saw this link to instructions for dyeing the eggs naturally using onion skins:

Greek Red Easter Eggs

Thus, a new tradition was born. I’m not really sure how many onion skins I used. I’ve been saving them for awhile and used everything in my onion skin jar. After boiling them, I cooled them and then left them in the onion vinegar liquid overnight. Here’s a picture:

Greek red Easter eggs

Here is an egg my daughter loves. She left it in blueberry juice overnight in the refrigerator.  In this picture, it sort of looks like a dinosaur egg :) .

Purple egg

6 Comments

  1. drenka said,

    April 8, 2007 at 8:27 am

    That’s not Greek tradition.I’m Macedonian and we have that tradition.

  2. hinzkj said,

    April 8, 2007 at 6:07 pm

    It’s interesting that it is a Macedonian tradition, too. I’ve heard it’s a tradition in several other cultures as well. It’s been a fun tradition to add to some of our other family traditions.

  3. Lisa in ME (SHS) said,

    April 11, 2007 at 4:32 pm

    I love those photos. I like the idea as well! I’ll have to file this away to try next year.

  4. Amy Grant said,

    May 9, 2007 at 6:17 pm

    Your eggs look much better than mine! ;o) Beautiful!

  5. Kristine/SHS said,

    May 19, 2007 at 8:46 pm

    Wow, great color on those eggs! The kits are fun for the younger kids, but this looks like it would appeal (ha, no pun intended!) more to my kids now that they are older . . .

  6. Cynthia said,

    May 27, 2007 at 9:34 am

    That is a BEAUTIFUL egg. I never would have though to try natural coloring and decorating.


Leave a Reply

