Wool Pan Handle Cover

I mainly use cast iron pans in my kitchen, and the handles can get very hot. A regular potholder can be a little awkward to handle when moving the pot, but it’s what I’ve been using. I recently saw some pan handle covers for sale in a catalog and thought they would be pretty simple to make. I made up a quick sample the other night and really like the result. I’m going to make up a few more of these, now. The length is perfect for my griddle and aebleskiver pan. It’s a little long for my skillet, but fine if I fold the end up. I may shorten one of the next ones that I make by a few rows for a custom fit for my skillet.

griddleaebleskiver

skillet

Here’s the pattern, which is so simple it’s almost not a pattern:

With 2 strands of worsted weight wool held together, cast on 17 stitches. I used size 11 needles.

Knit in stockinette stitch (knit one row, purl the next) for a total of 26 rows. Cast off and leave a long tail. Use the tail to sew up the side and bottom.

To shrink the wool, I just threw it in the washing machine with my regular laundry until it shrunk the amount that I liked- this took 3 laundry loads.

This only took a few minutes to knit. Nothing fancy, but very useful!

3 Comments

  1. elanknits said,

    April 13, 2007 at 7:05 pm

    Since it’s felted you should be able to cut the end & not have it ravel.

  2. Janet said,

    March 2, 2009 at 8:23 am

    This is exactly what my sister asked me to knit for her! Thank you for the pictures too. I’ve never felted but my knitting friends say to place the item to felt in a pillowcase cover and zip it closed otherwise the washing machine may clog up with the wool.

  3. Karen said,

    September 11, 2010 at 2:18 am

    What wonderful gift ideas!


Leave a Reply

