Frozen Treats

No picture with this post- perhaps I’ll add one later. It’s currently cooled down to 93 degrees here- it’s been a very hot day. I was craving something cold, a little sweet and fruity, but there was no ice cream or sorbet in the freezer and not even any yogurt in the fridge to make a smoothie. I looked through the cupboard for inspiration and made up a simple mixture that I froze in our cuisenart ice cream freezer. My daughter and I both loved the results- my husband and son won’t even try it, so that just means more for us! Here’s the recipe:

Frozen Pineapple Coconut Cream

1 can ( I think around 20 oz.) unsweetened crushed pineapple, including juice

1 can coconut milk (I used Native Forest brand classic- I think it’s 13.5 oz.)

1/2 cup evaporated cane juice (basically a slightly more natural version of sugar)

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

2 Tbsp. unsweetened coconut ( more or less)

Mix together, pour into cuisenart-type ice cream maker ( the kind with the bowl that’s kept in the freezer) and freeze for around 30 minutes.

This really hit the spot for me, and there’s still lots more in the freezer for later- like tomorrow when it’s going to be somewhere around 100 degrees!

2 Comments

  1. Cynthia said,

    June 2, 2007 at 7:13 pm

    That sounds YUMMY to me. We LOVE coconut here!

  2. Kathy in WA said,

    June 3, 2007 at 2:11 pm

    Yum! So funny to hear you say it cooled DOWN to 93! :) We’re having gorgeous, warm sunny weather here in WA but it won’t last. Ha!

    Definitely post a picture if you can.


Leave a Reply

