Tie-Dyed Theatre Shirts

On Monday, I helped the cast of my daughter’s show tie-dye t-shirts. I had a great crew of volunteers which made the whole process go very smoothly. The kids rubber-banded them in whatever way they chose. They then added a few cups of water and a bit of salt to a ziploc bag, sealed and got their shirt all wet, then added some dye concentrate. They then re-sealed their bags and gently squished them a bit to spread the dye around. We only had one person drop their bag- which has given me some pretty feet for a few days :).

After letting the shirts sit all night, my daughter and I spent two hours removing all of the rubber-bands yesterday morning. We let the washing machine take care of rinsing and washing. Here is a picture of our 57 beautiful shirts, although the color is brighter than this picture shows. They are a blue-violet color.

shirts

Tonight, my husband put logos on them, which turned out really well:

logo

This Saturday, the cast will wear them at our local Farmer’s Market while they pass out flyers about their show. It’s always fun to see the sea of tie-dyed color spread over the whole market.

2 Comments

  1. Cynthia said,

    June 21, 2007 at 5:23 am

    WOW! That’s a LOT of shirts. I bet it will be very striking to see everyone wearing them all at the same time. They are SO CUTE with the logo on them.

  2. chasmyn said,

    September 1, 2007 at 11:48 pm

    Can you tell me more about this dyeing method? These look and sound great – especially for kids!

    I found your blog linked on a craftster thread via your tutorial for t-shirt yarn. And now I’m adding it to my rss feed reader :)


Leave a Reply

