My Bedspread Dress

Last week, I was downtown at a tiny little store that is always full of an interesting and eclectic assortment of merchandise.  The store is barely bigger than a small hallway, but I still feel like I don’t see everything that they sell.  Way back in the corner, they had some folded pieces of fabric that were labeled “twin” which I’m assuming were originally intended to be some sort of bed covering.  They were a medium weight cotton in a variety of prints.

This one came home with me:

Fabric

I knew that I wanted to make it into some sort of clothing.  I originally thought it would be a wrap-around skirt  using the circle design part of the fabric.  I pulled out a bunch of patterns and after playing around with different possibilities, I decided to make a Barcelona Dress ( a Textile Studio pattern).  I’ve made this pattern in a few different fabrics and I love that it always looks different.  It’s long, down to my ankles at center front and a little shorter on the sides and is a very comfortable dress to wear.

Here is my finished dress:

dress

Here is a close up the skirt part of the dress, where I used the circle part of the design.  In this pattern, there is a seam at center front and center back rather than at the sides:

skirt

I’m planning to go this weekend to look a little closer at the rest of the bedspreads in that shop.  I’m thinking another one might need to come home with me!

5 Comments

  1. mermaids said,

    July 14, 2007 at 3:03 am

    what a great use of that fabric! a dress like that would cost a fortune in a store.

    teri

  2. Kathy in WA said,

    July 14, 2007 at 10:11 pm

    Karen!!! This is amazing. I can’t believe you turned that fabric into a dress. I am trying hard not to covet skills like that. :) Beautiful.

  3. Cynthia said,

    July 20, 2007 at 4:53 pm

    That’s WAY CUTE! I could never create something like that. GREAT JOB!

  4. yolanda said,

    November 6, 2009 at 4:33 pm

    I quite simply love the things you are doing! What can you do with the cloth rubbings? They are exquisite. I make a lot in the fabric recycling. One day, when I can organize it, I would love to share them. I live in VA. Where are you?

    yolanda

    • hinzkj said,

      November 14, 2009 at 10:00 am

      Yolanda-
      Thanks for your kind words! The cloth rubbings can be used in any way one chooses. I recently used some of my paper collagraph rubbing fabric as part of an art postcard. The other pieces I will use when I’m inspired to, which is sometimes right away and sometimes a few years away :). And as to where I live – I’m in Washington State, so pretty far away from VA!


Leave a Reply

