Felted Wool Water Bottle Cover

Whenever I go out, I nearly always take along my water bottle. I don’t like it when my water bottle gets all sweaty, which always happens when I add ice and especially seems to be a problem with my stainless steel water bottles. I used to stick my water bottle in a sock which helped, but wasn’t very attractive. A couple of years ago, it occurred to me that a wool water bottle cover would be perfect. It absorbs/prevents the condensation on the bottle (which keeps everything else in my bag dry) and also keeps my water cool for hours. My most-used water bottle and cover were getting shabby, so I just finished knitting up a replacement:

water bottle cover

 

This particular cover was knit for my 18 oz. Klean Kanteen water bottle, the one I use most. The same pattern works for the 27 oz. bottle with a few more rows added on. This also fits lots of plastic water bottles, with the height adjusted to whatever is needed. I’ve found that if it’s knit for a taller bottle, it’s easy enough to roll over the top like a cuff to fit on shorter bottles.

The pattern is pretty simple:

With worsted weight wool, cast on 40 stitches- I usually use size 10 or 10-1/2 needles. Divide onto 3 double point needles Purl the first round and then knit around until desired length is reached. For this water bottle, this was about 9 inches- about two inches more than the finished height I wanted. I probably could have gone a few more rows as the wool shrunk a bit more than I expected, but I was able to stretch it out to the length I wanted.

When desired length is reached, begin decreases for the bottom as follows:

Round1-(knit 6, knit 2 together) all the way around (35 stitches).

Round 2 and all even rounds- knit

Round 3- (Knit 3, knit 2 together) all the way around

Round 5- (Knit 2, knit 2 together) around

Round7- (Knit1, knit 2 together) around

Round 9- Knit 2 together around.

Break yarn and pull tail through remaining 7 stitches.  Weave in loose ends.

 

To felt the cover, I just throw it into a nylon bag with whatever else I happen to be washing for as many loads as necessary to get to the point of shrinkage that I like. This cover took 4 trips through the washing machine. I then pulled it into shape on my water bottle and let it dry. It can be pulled and shaped quite a bit when it’s wet.

I use up all sorts of odds and ends of yarn with these, creating stripes or different designs. For this cover, I held a strand of lace-weight merino yarn along with the worsted to add a little color.

3 Comments

  1. August 4, 2007 at 3:52 pm

    That looks great! Love the colours you used.

  2. elanknits said,

    August 4, 2007 at 4:59 pm

    I think I’ll make one for each of the boys for school this fall, stop them from getting a puddle on their desks & make their bottles easy to identify.

  3. Nancy A said,

    November 13, 2009 at 9:55 pm

    Had to thank you for posting the pattern! I have an 18 oz. and a 27 oz. Klean Kanteen on the way, and this is Exactly the helpful pattern I have been looking for. Thanks Bunches!


Leave a Reply

