Easy Red Lentil Soup

The weather has changed almost overnight from very warm to cool.  Yesterday, my daughter asked me to make red lentil soup for lunch, something we frequently make in the cooler days of fall and winter.  I know there are some people who eat soup in the summer, but even though I love soup, it just is not something I want to eat when it’s 80 or 90 degrees outside.  I’m glad it’s soup weather again!

This soup is really easy and uses only ingredients that are always in my pantry.

soup

Here’s the recipe:

1 cup red lentils

4 cups water

1 tsp. onion powder

1 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. black pepper

1/2 tsp. garlic powder

1/4 – 1/2 tsp. oregano

1-1/2 tsp. ground cumin

Put lentils and water in a pan and turn heat to high.  Measure in seasonings and when ingredients come to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 30 minutes, stirring a couple of times.  That’s it!

It tastes great after 30 minutes, but is even better if you simmer it a bit longer.  I add water as needed when I’m going to be simmering it for a longer time.

We usually eat this with a bit of grated cheese and sometimes sour cream on top.   It’s one of my favorite cold weather lunches and is not much more complicated than opening up a can of soup if the ingredients are in the pantry anyway.

1 Comment

  1. Lisa said,

    October 12, 2007 at 6:29 am

    I am going to try this recipe next week! We love lentils and anything with cumin.LOL Thanks so much for sharing!


Leave a Reply

