Spiral Sox and a Pincushion

I finished these socks a couple of weeks ago and am enjoying wearing them around the house this morning, as we have had our first freeze of the season.  The pattern is the Up-Down Spiral Sox pattern from the book, Favorite Socks from Interweave Press.

The yarn is some I hand-dyed, using leftover dye from a neighborhood tie-dye party. I really liked this yarn and wanted to keep playing with the leftovers after finishing the socks.  I found a few free internet patterns for knitted pincushions and decided to use the one found here:

Pincushion Pattern

It was very quick and fun to knit.  I decided to try felting it and threw it in a nylon laundry bag with a few loads  of laundry.  When it seemed to have shrunk to my liking ( 4 laundry cycles, I think), I pushed into shape and let it dry.  Here’s the result:

I still have  a little more of this yarn, waiting for another small project to catch my eye!

Leave a Reply

