Felt Stitched Ornaments

I enjoyed stitching the stars featured in this earlier post:

https://hinzpired.wordpress.com/2007/11/10/card-stitching/ 

After playing with stitching them on paper, I decided that I wanted to try to adapt the idea to fiber.  For the images shown here, I used the same pattern as in my earlier post.  I poked holes through the pattern and then taped it to a piece of felt. I then used a fine-tipped sharpie marker to make dots on the felt through the holes.

I couldn’t get a good picture showing the dots on red felt, but here is a picture of the dots on a white background:

As I began stitching, I realized the felt needed to be more rigid, so I pinned a piece of non-fusible heavy weight interfacing to the felt.  This is very easy to stitch through and gave me the added  stability I was looking for (Timtex is one brand name for this sort of interfacing).

I then followed the stitching pattern in exactly the same way as I did for the card-stitched images.  I did knot the thread rather than taping it.

After I finished the stitching, I cut the felt into a circle, making a matching circle for the back.  I trimmed the interfacing a bit so that it wouldn’t show.  I then used my sewing machine and a zig-zag stitch to sew the two circles together.  I stitched a length of thread through to make a hanger to finish the ornament:

3 Comments

  1. Kias said,

    January 21, 2011 at 6:07 am

    Thanks for the ideas :) just got myself some string today.. i went the nails & board option.. didn’t even think of working with paper or fabric.. nice

  2. Theanna said,

    February 24, 2011 at 1:03 am

    It looks stuffed. What did you put inside? I’m really curious. Thanks!

    • hinzkj said,

      February 24, 2011 at 4:53 pm

      The only stuffing is the layer of heavyweight non-fusible interfacing that I used to help with stability during stitching. It’s really nice to work with- I also use it when making stitched postcards to give my fabric some stability as well as that little bit of dimension.


Leave a Reply

