Summer Squash Fritters

Since summer squash is plentiful in my part of the world right now, I thought I’d share a recipe I’ve been making a lot lately- actually for lunch 3 times so far this week :).

This recipe is inspired by the one in a favorite cookbook of mine this time of year, Simply in Season.  Here is the recipe mostly as published ( I’ll share my major variations at the end):

Vegetable Fritters

Place in a bowl:

3 cups shredded summer squash

1/3 cup minced onion or 2 cloves minced garlic

Mix together:

1/3 cup flour or whole wheat flour ( brown rice works, too)

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1/8 tsp. pepper

2 eggs, beaten

Mix gently with squash mixture. Heat a pan over medium heat (I use a cast iron frying pan).  Add a bit of oil or your chosen fat ( I usually use a bit of unsalted butter.)  Drop by spoonfuls into frying pan- I flatten it a bit with my spoon to help it spread a little.  Cook until golden then turn over to cook the second side.

The first time I made these, I used a mix of green and yellow summer squash.  The next time, I experimented more and substituted some grated carrot for some of the squash.  Other times, I’ve also added some finely chopped cabbage.  It seems to work best if summer squash makes up at least 2/3 of the ingredients.  I love how colorful they look when I use both yellow and green squash and orange carrots.  Today I only had yellow squash and yellow carrots, so they aren’t as colorful, but they taste good either way:)  Also, I often use both onion and garlic.  I always use garlic, sometimes even doubling it if the cloves are small because I love garlic (and also usually press it instead of mincing it).  I also add whatever fresh herbs I have around- today’s batch had some chopped up fresh basil added that came in my CSA box this week.  I experimented with brown rice flour yesterday and used it again today as I like it a little better- my daughter says she can’t tell the difference, though.  Also, for lunch, I usually just make half of a batch (and just sort of guess that my 1/3 cup measure is filled more or less half-way full as I don’t feel like getting out the tablespoons and teaspoons to measure it exactly!).

These are also good with a little cheese sprinkled on them.  I know I’m going to be making this quite a few more times before squash season is over.

Leave a Reply

