Learning to Crochet

A few weeks ago, as I was googling and looking for something else, I came across the blog,  Resurrection Fern.  It’s a beautiful blog, and I found myself especially interested in the crochet-covered rocks which are frequently featured there.  I think this is the post that first got my attention: Resurrection Fern Stones .

After viewing this, I decided that I needed to make some of those rocks.  This meant trying again to learn to crochet, something I’ve attempted unsuccessfully several times.  I’ve managed to learn enough to put a simple edging on something I knit, but I’ve never made any further progress.  I set to work with a couple of books I have and a few free instructions from the internet and crocheted and unraveled several projects.  As I started actually getting the hang of it a little bit, I heard that Margaret Oomen of the Resurrection Fern blog had patterns for three of her rocks in the September/October  2009 Issue of Crochet Today magazine.  I was able to find it at my local Hastings.  Here’s a photo for anyone looking for it:

(And an aside- as much as I’ve always liked lacy crochet things, this cover sums up what I DON’T like about crochet.  Apologies to anyone who likes it, but I just don’t get things like crocheted fake clocks.   Of course, my son thinks my crocheted rocks are a little crazy, so I obviously can’t really judge:). )

I started in on the three patterns in the magazine and made them in this order:

I then bought the smaller size crochet hook that the patterns actually called for and made this one again- I think my crocheting had improved here, too:

For my next project, I made a small doily from a book I already had, MaryJane’s Stitching Room by MaryJane Butters.

I have always loved lace doilies and often buy them at garage sales, and I’m happy that I can make my own now.

And that’s the sum total of all of my finished crochet projects to date.  I’m sure I’ll be doing quite a bit more, but I won’t be making any crocheted clocks :).

2 Comments

  1. vashti braha said,

    September 5, 2009 at 7:31 am

    Your crochet looks fabulous! I would never know that you’ve had trouble crocheting in the past.
    You’ve inspired me to cover some rocks with crochet–I think the rock background and shape really shows off the stitch textures.
    Also–check out Gwen Blakely Kinsler’s “Heartrock Hotel”, First Prize winner in the Art category of CGOA’s 2009 design contest!

  2. September 5, 2009 at 6:17 pm

    Woow your rocks have turned out so lovely… you have done a marvellous job & I’d say your crochet is excellent. I found Margaret’s blog sometime ago & was awe-inspired to cover rocks but alas we don’t have smooth rocks around where I live & should you be lucky enough to find one they are way too small so am waiting to find nice smooth good sized ones & then I’m into it… thanks for showing the book for the patterns… ummm NO crochet clock from this crocheter either – your son would no doubt think me a wee bit crazy too, cause I crochet coral…
    Keep up the great work… OOroo… B


Leave a Reply

